Eligibility criteria

Find out if you're eligible to apply for a Teacher Education Scholarship. To apply, you will need to:

  1. be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  2. intend on enrolling or be currently enrolled in initial teacher education studies at a recognised Australian university or tertiary institution. Your studies will need to meet the department's and the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) academic requirements for employment as a secondary teacher of a high-demand subject area or a special education (K-12) teacher. The subject areas of need are:
  3. be willing to accept an appointment as a permanent full time teacher to a NSW public school in an agreed location on completion of your studies for a minimum period of three years
  4. (if you have not completed the full four years of required higher education in a country where English is the main language) be able to demonstrate that your English language proficiency is of a standard which would enable you to teach and interact effectively and confidently in a NSW school. You will be required to undertake an assessment of your English language proficiency – this is a requirement to gain an approval to teach in NSW public schools.

Special education (K-12) teacher

There are only two recognised initial teacher education programs in special education in NSW. These are offered through the University of New England and the University of Newcastle. The University of Newcastle course is available as an internship in the fourth year of study only, and, as entry is not guaranteed, is only appropriate for a one year scholarship applied for in your third or second last year of teacher education studies.

Technological and applied studies

To be eligible for a Teacher Education Scholarship while you train to become a technological and applied studies (TAS) teacher, you must intend on enrolling in or be currently enrolled in one of the following courses unless you have already completed an appropriate undergraduate degree:

Agreed locations

As part of the application process, you will be asked to select either "Anywhere in the State" or at least five individual school education areas where you would like to be appointed on completion of your studies. If you select to be appointed "Anywhere in the State", you are agreeing to be appointed to a school in one of the following school education areas: Albury, Armidale, Bankstown, Batemans Bay, Bathurst, Blacktown, Bondi, Bourke, Broken Hill, Campbelltown, Central Coast, Clarence/Coffs Harbour, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Fairfield, Granville, Griffith, Hornsby, Lake Macquarie, Lismore, Liverpool, Maitland, Moree, Mount Druitt, Muswellbrook, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Orange, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Jackson, Port Macquarie, Queanbeyan, Ryde, Shellharbour, St George, Sutherland, Tamworth, Taree, Tweed Heads/Ballina, Wagga Wagga, Windsor, Wollongong. If you wish to select five or more individual school education areas, you must select metropolitan locations and/or non-coastal rural or remote locations where teachers are in high demand.

The metropolitan areas where teachers are in high-demand are Bankstown, Blacktown, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Granville, Liverpool and Mount Druitt. The non-coastal rural areas where teachers are in high demand are Albury, Armidale, Bathurst, Bourke, Broken Hill, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Griffith, Moree, Orange, Tamworth, Wagga Wagga.

Further information

If you can't find answers to your questions in the FAQs, contact our Scholarships Team via scholarships@det.nsw.edu.au or phone 1300 301 435.