Science and Mathematics Scholarships

A Science and Mathematics Scholarship gives you


Per year of study


Study completion grant


teaching job

Applications are now open

Contact us on 1300 300 634 for more information!

Apply now!

Apply now


As part of the Government's commitment to STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics), up to 320 public school teachers will have the opportunity to undertake further training as specialists in mathematics and science over the next four years.

Approved teachers, you could get financial assistance while you study to become a science or mathematics teacher and be guaranteed a permanent position in a NSW public school. Up to 80 Science and Mathematics Scholarships are available for study commencing in 2017.

Science and mathematics scholars get:

  • $5000 per year of study
  • $300 general purpose allowance
  • up to eight days relief per year (paid to school)
  • $2500 study completion grant
  • a permanent teaching position in a NSW public school in an agreed location, on completion of studies.

Agreed locations

As part of the application process, you will be asked to select either "anywhere in the state" or individual school education areas where you would like to be appointed on completion of your studies. If you select to be appointed "Anywhere in the State", you are agreeing to be appointed to a school in one of the following school education areas: Albury, Armidale, Bankstown, Bathurst, Blacktown, Bourke, Broken Hill, Campbelltown, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Fairfield, Granville, Griffith, Liverpool, Maitland, Moree, Mount Druitt, Muswellbrook, Orange, Tamworth, Wagga Wagga and Windsor.

If selecting individual school education areas, you may increase your chances of receiving a scholarship if you are willing to teach in locations of workforce need.

The metropolitan areas where teachers are in high-demand are Bankstown, Blacktown, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Granville, Liverpool, Mount Druitt, and Windsor. The non-coastal rural NSW areas where teachers are in high demand are Albury, Armidale, Bathurst, Bourke, Broken Hill, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Griffith, Maitland, Moree, Muswellbrook, Orange, Tamworth, and Wagga Wagga.

Check your eligibility

Find out if you're eligible to apply.

Be inspired

Find out what it's like to be a science or mathematics teacher.

Read the FAQs

Get answers to your questions about the Science and Mathematics Scholarship.

Talk to us

Contact our sponsored training team via or phone 1300 300 634